Rules & Regs
Rider Profiles
News Archive
Brazilian Ranking - 1st stop - Itaparica Island
Posted On:  02/02/2011 10:53:07

Five races completed at Itaparica island for the first stop of Brazilian National Circuit 2011. The sailors had extremely pleasant days at the island sailing in warm green waters. The races were disputed under varied conditions, with the wind blowing from the lower limit to 14 knots.

Before the begining of the last day of competition, 4 different sailors could win the championship. On the water, as usual, the races were very well disputed, with constant positions changes. It was virtually impossible to say who would win the race even after the first lap of the course completed.

At the end of the event, Marcello Morrone took the title. 16 years old Mateus Isaac finished in 2nd place, followed by Andre Yamin, Leonardo Rebello and Fernando Bocciarelli. Bocciarelli also run a clinic talking about sailing rules to all sailors before the start of the event. This kind of clinic (rules, technique, tactics) will be part of the program of each event hold in Brazil this season to increase the level of the whole fleet.

Morrone took also the sub-division titles on Masters and Heavy. Mateus Isaac, racing with an eleven meters sail won the U20 and the Light Weight division, Yamin was the Senior's champion. Arthur Damazio took the U17 title and Cleber Renno won in the Grand Master division.

The next event for the '11 Brazilian Ranking will be held on Apr 30th and May 1st in Araruama, same venue of the last World Championship. Good winds and races are expected again.

Marcello Morrone



website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson